Driving under the influence of alcohol can endanger you and other drivers on the road. It can also result in serious penalties if you are pulled over by law enforcement. At Parousis Law, we provide the trusted legal guidance and professional representation you need in this situation. If you get pulled over, it is important to reach out to our Boston DUI lawyer immediately.
Driving Under the Influence in Massachusetts
Getting pulled over under suspicion of driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious matter. Under Massachusetts general laws, you could face criminal charges in the following situations:
- If you driving a motor vehicle, over the age of 21, and have a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08 or greater;
- If you are driving a school bus, truck, or other commercial vehicle and have a BAC of
- If you are between 16 and 21 and have a BAC of .02 or more.
You can also be charged with DUI in Massachusetts if you are driving under the influence of marijuana or other types of drugs, including prescription medications. You do have the right to refuse breath or blood alcohol testing during a DUI traffic stop, robbing prosecutors of important evidence.
Penalties for Massachusetts DUI Charges
The State of Massachusetts takes a hard stand against driving under the influence. If you refuse DUI testing, you could be subject to automatic driver’s license suspension. If you consent and are convicted of a DUI as a result, penalties you could be subject to include:
- For a first DUI, you could face fines ranging from $500 to $5,000 and up to a 90-day driver’s license suspension. Jail time can generally be avoided unless there are extenuating circumstances, such as causing a car accident resulting in injuries or having a minor child in the vehicle at the time.
- For a second DUI offense, fines increase to up to $10,000 and your drivers license may be suspected for two years. In addition, you may face a mandatory minimum 60-day jail sentence.
- For a third DUI offense, fines can reach up to $15,000 and your driver’s license may be revoked for eight years. You will also face a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 180 days.
- For a fourth DUI or subsequent offense, fines can reach up to $50,000, your driver’s license may be completely revoked, and you could face a mandatory jail sentence of two years or more.
In addition to criminal penalties, a DUI conviction may result in the loss of your job and can impact your rights in family court proceedings, such as in cases of divorce or disputes over child custody. A criminal record due to a DUI could prevent from getting future jobs, housing, or an education.
Our Boston DUI Lawyer is Here to Help
Parousis Law is dedicated to protecting you against penalties for DUI and the impacts they can have on your life. For help in building a strong legal defense, contact our Boston DUI lawyer and request a consultation right away.